Genetically Modified Soybeans: Skeptical of this “Savior in a Seed” (Madeline Lynn)

Image

I have always been a forward thinker, looking towards the future for the possibilities of where technology and science will take us next. When I first heard of GMO, or genetically modified organisms,  I thought it was exciting and the next milestone towards a more innovative society where food shortages or limitations would no longer exist. Although ignorant of what it truly was, the only reservation I had on GMO was where people could possibly take it further in harmful or unethical ways. I do see the possibilities of GMO in the future, but after I finished my research and read recent studies of the effects of genetically modified foods, I no longer believe the current state of producing and selling GM foods to the public is good, safe, or ethical.

I have research and educated myself on both argumentative sides and choose, as a left side of the brain thinker, to follow the logic and facts back to the studies that have proven the harmful effects of GMO foods on our bodies.  The fears and so called allegations that GM soybeans can lead to breast cancer, brain damage, immune system impairment, digestive issues, hormonal and female reproductive disruption are no longer allegations. The “protective” herbicide that include glyphosate disrupts hormonal distribution as well as the delivery of vital nutrients from mother to womb, often resulting in miscarriages and possible infertility later in life. Genetic engineers also have tried to fix the natural growth problems in soybeans by preventing weed growth the chemical engineering. However, through evolutionary change, “super weeds” have grown immune to glyphosate, defeating the entire purpose of genetically modifying the food to begin with.

The GM food industry is rapidly taking away farmers freedom of choice on whether or not to produce GM food, but because 90 to 95 percent of soybeans grown in the US are genetically modified, many farmers feel like they have no choice but to comply with the direction society if being forced into next. Although I am currently against GM foods, my position is not set for life.I can only hope that GM foods continue to grow in reliability and believe in their future power to stop world hunger, but at the moment I am skeptical.

I only believe that since there are potential health risks to GM foods that are currently unknown, producing the food and distributing it to a third world country that is ignorant of the risks would be ethically wrong. I would advise the congresswomen to hold out on providing GM foods to this country and continue to support and protect the citizens by not putting them at risk with an unpredictable source of food based on possible health risks. If she acts prematurely without more information and ends up hurting this country rather than helping it, her political future would be abolished.  A possible solution instead is to continue the imports of non-perishable vegetables and plants due to the countries lack of electricity and refrigeration; however, if the congresswoman is set on GM foods, I would suggest that she look into another seed instead of soybeans that has less side effects and more nutritional value.

Image

6 thoughts on “Genetically Modified Soybeans: Skeptical of this “Savior in a Seed” (Madeline Lynn)

  1. Well thought out – and expressed – concerns about GMO crops. Interesting that you changed your mind set on them. Good advice to the Congresswoman. This may be a topic you’d want to keep up with!
    Dr K

  2. I never realized the fact that GMO’s could be used for harm, rather than good, but after reading your blog post I found myself completely agreeing with your skepticism about them. It was interesting how you mentioned the freedom that is being stripped from some farmers to plant whatever they want and in the traditional ways they choose. I also have negative feelings about genetically modified foods, because I think that they are unnatural and too risky to be truly implemented for regular use.

  3. I really enjoyed hearing your point of view, although different from mine! I like your use of facts that backed up your reasoning for the dangers of the product! Great Work! – Alexandra FIncher

  4. I enjoyed this analysis, laying out the bad facts straight and plain! It did sway me to be a bit more wary of GMOs, but I am still more in support of it than not for its economic value. However, I did enjoy your open-mindedness and hope for the future! However, I would rather look into the rate of poverty and those who go hungry, but every little thing counts when deciding the fate of an entire country. I would perhaps raise the ideal of rapeseed, both practical and relatively safe for health, to Congresswoman da Silva. Risks may be greater with genetically modified soybean than genetically modified rapeseed. From my own research, both rapeseed and soybean are tied in the edible oil market, both making up 18%. Hopefully, we can find a relatively practical and safe GMO to feed all the hungry!
    -Arianna Dino

  5. Thanks for all the replies! I am glad that my perceptive comes across and is backed up with factual evidence. Arianna, I read your blog post and really think that you are right and that rapeseeds would be a good compromising GM food for this third world country!

Leave a Reply

